Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA)

Formerly known as the Department of Public Welfare, this is the state agency responsible for administering public assistance programs for needy citizens of Massachusetts. Programs DTA oversees include:

Transitional Aid to Families with Dependent Children (TAFDC)
Emergency Aid to the Elderly, Disabled and Children (EAEDC)
Food Stamp Benefits
Emergency Assistance (EA)
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

Age Range
Early Childhood (0-5), School Age (4-22), Transition Age (14-26), Adulthood (18+), Aging (50+)
State and Federal Services